Sweating Fondant

Decorating By TaylorMadeTreats Updated 5 Jun 2010 , 5:30am by mamawrobin

TaylorMadeTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TaylorMadeTreats Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 5:16pm
post #1 of 25

Hi, I am fairly new to cake decorating and have been experiencing a very frustrating problem. Most cakes that I decorate and cover with foundant end up sweating. The fondant gets very shiny and sticky. Luckily, so far, it has not been a problem, but any tips to put a stop to this would be greatly appreciated. I use a homemade MMF. Also, I live in FL so I know the humidity has a huge role in this.

Thank you for all your input in advance!

24 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 9:22pm
post #2 of 25

Are you refrigerating your cakes? I don't use perishable fillings because I NEVER refrigerate my cakes. It's really hot and humid here as well and refrigerating cakes doesn't work for me.

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:57am
post #3 of 25

If it's winter here, I can put my cakes in the fridge because when I pull them out, it's still fairly cool in the house and I don't have the sweating problem. But since it's been warming up, my cakes will sweat if I have them in the fridge. It has something to do with going from cold to hot. I've found that if they do start to sweat, and they're left out for a while, the condensation will eventually evapotate. But I have just stopped putting them in the fridge once they're covered in fondant. But I can see a future problem... ants... that's my next hurdle to tackle : )

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 8:10am
post #4 of 25