Royal Icing Shapes On Wax Paper

Decorating By Crissielyn Updated 25 Jul 2013 , 1:36am by Sassyzan

Crissielyn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crissielyn Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 12:43am
post #1 of 13

Hello,

I am a newbie to baking altogether, but tried my hand at royal icing this last weekend. Tried to draw soccer balls using the royal icing onto wax paper. Also did some simple five leaf flowers.

Had lot of problems in that even with following a pattern under the wax paper it was super hard to draw a nice circle and little pentagon shapes. The areas I filled in with thin icing turned out a bit lumpy. Worst of all, at least half of them broke when I was trying to get them off the wax paper.

Is there a trick to getting them off of the wax paper? They seemed really really stuck! I tried a thin knife to release them and that did a better job than trying to hold the shape while peeling wax paper, but I really had to saw them off.

How do people do delicate designs like flowers with thin stems or little butterfly wings? If I had tried this I would not have been able to get anything off without it all breaking.

Any advice would be whole-heartedly appreciated. Cheers! icon_smile.gif

12 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 1:02am
post #2 of 13

If you use wax paper, you need to rub on a smear it with some crisco and then wipe it off before beginning to pipe.

To get things off, you need slide the item to the edge of a counter, gently press on the piece, while pulling down on the paper as you slide it off the counter (hope that makes sense, it's hard to describe without seeing it). You're removing the paper by pulling down gently, off the counter.

Some people prefer using saran wrap, pulled tight and taped down. Others use acetate.

HTH
Rae

Crissielyn Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 1:51am
post #3 of 13