Thinking About Leaving My Job For My Candy Business

Business By MariaK38 Updated 4 Jun 2010 , 11:33am by infinitsky

MariaK38 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MariaK38 Posted 31 May 2010 , 2:06pm
post #1 of 13

Oh boy, I'm in a pickle! I've been working part time for the last 6 months for a friend who owns a magazine. She offered me the job after running into me in the post office just before Christmas last year. I like the job, but I feel my focus is really divided between this job and my candy business, especially as I'm getting more orders.
I need to give her my notice, but I feel bad. I've been putting this off for a week already. Help me!

Maria

12 replies
Montrealconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Montrealconfections Posted 31 May 2010 , 2:22pm
post #2 of 13

She has her own business so she should understand that you now need to focus on yours. Have you mentioned that you're getting more orders? Then it shouldn't be a very big surprise to her, don't drag it out just tell her, give her your 2 week notice and start worrying about your business instead of her feelings. It's very liberating to put yourself first!!

MariaK38 Posted 31 May 2010 , 8:14pm
post #3 of 13

thanks for the support! I talked to my boss today, and she said that she kind of sensed it was coming. She was wonderful and very supportive about it, but disappointed that I was leaving.
Whew... it's done!

conchita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
conchita Posted 31 May 2010 , 8:32pm
post #4 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MariaK38

Oh boy, I'm in a pickle! I've been working part time for the last 6 months for a friend who owns a magazine. She offered me the job after running into me in the post office just before Christmas last year. I like the job, but I feel my focus is really divided between this job and my candy business, especially as I'm getting more orders.
I need to give her my notice, but I feel bad. I've been putting this off for a week already. Help me!

Maria