Need To Rant And Some Good Advice!!

Business By Yum2010 Updated 30 May 2010 , 4:17am by Jeep_girl816

Yum2010 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Yum2010 Posted 27 May 2010 , 12:54pm
post #1 of 31

Ok, sorry, but this may be lengthy...............
Sooo, I've been decorating cakes for fun for about 3 years now and I never minded doing them for friends and family; however, recently I have started a little business when we built our new house....hubby made me a certified kitchen on our property.....Anyway, to get the word out around my new neighborhood and area I offered to do a neighbor's cake for cost of the ingredients. So, I did the cake (a very detailed double tiered beach themed cake that took me days) and I figured I would just consider it an advertising investment so to speak.... Well, it worked and the words out. I am booking up like crazy (keep in mind I only take 2 to 3 cakes a week because I still do have another full time job and I have two small kids)---Business is good!

The only problem is, now she expects me to do all her cakes for cost!!!!! I usually have a little rule that I go by when it comes to making cakes for close friends or family and that is if I offer to bake the cake, then it's a gift or I just charge cost; if not, they are considered a full-paying customer. It works well. But now this, PITA neighbor (she's not even a really a good friend) is not paying me what I charge while I'm having to turn paying customers away! It's like she feels like I owe her something!!! I know if I charge her she will freak (she's very emotional and EXTREMELY cheap). She nickel and dimes every cake I do for her and frankly, I do not want her as a customer at all, much less a non-paying customer!!

How do I get her to stop expecting free cakes without totally freaking her out and being mean. HELP!!!

30 replies
kayjess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kayjess Posted 27 May 2010 , 1:04pm
post #2 of 31