Help Me Decide What Size Square Pan(S) To Buy?

Decorating By kathik Updated 24 May 2010 , 12:55am by tesso

kathik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kathik Posted 23 May 2010 , 3:48pm
post #1 of 6

I am just a hobby baker for now and as silly as it sounds I don't own a single square pan! I want to make a gift box cake for a friend next month and it's a great excuse for me to buy a couple of square pans.

So what sizes do you use most? Are your pans 2" or 3" high? I think I want the 3" high, but would like to hear opinions on why or why not.

Thanks,
Kathi

5 replies
tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tesso Posted 23 May 2010 , 3:55pm
post #2 of 6

if you are just keeping it a hobby and want economical, use the wilton pan set. I have them and actually have used them alot. Are they the best, no, do they work, yes. I have the 2" high pans. I didnt want the 3" because in my personal experience the corners just droop too much and can give the cake a bowed effect look. kind of like the corners are slouching.

a hint for you. Make sure you add an extra touch of crisco and flour in the corners of you pans. THere is nothing worse then a hunk of corner coming off your cake because there wasnt enough lube to keep it from sticking. icon_biggrin.gif

kathik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kathik Posted 23 May 2010 , 4:06pm
post #3 of 6

Thanks Tesso. I hope to restart my business at some point so I want to invest in some good pans. I was looking at the Fat Daddio pans since I have heard such good things about them. So is it the Wilton Pans or all 3" pans that seem to give the bowed effect?

Thanks for the tip about the corners, too! I wouldn't have thought about that...until it happened!

Kathi

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 23 May 2010 , 4:20pm
post #4 of 6