Fondant Covered Cake Board

Decorating By sweet56pooh Updated 21 May 2010 , 11:14pm by kittyskakes

sweet56pooh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet56pooh Posted 19 May 2010 , 8:34am
post #1 of 10

Hi! I'm new to cake decorating and wanted to try and cover my cake board with fondant. Do I put my cake directly onto the fondant covered cake board? Or do I have the cake on another cake board that is exactly the same size of the cake? If so, how do I secure the boards together? Any advice will be much appreciated!! TIA!!

9 replies
NikkiB912 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NikkiB912 Posted 19 May 2010 , 9:06am
post #2 of 10

When we did it in our cake class, we used piping gel as "glue". And we always had a cake board under our cake too.

sheena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sheena Posted 19 May 2010 , 9:13am
post #3 of 10

I take a ball of gumpaste, shred it with my hands and put it in the food processor with some water, make a smooth paste with it...adjust the consistency with more gumpaste or water...and I use this as a glue to stick my fondant covering on the cakeboard as well as to stick the cake board under the cake to the fondant covered cake board. I'm sorry I cannot give you exact quantities of the gumpaste and water mixture, as I just make it by feel and not any specific measurement.

HTH. icon_smile.gif

sweet56pooh Posted 19 May 2010 , 9:36am
post #4 of 10

Thank you!! Both answers helped!! Cake board underneath the cake. Do you think royal icing might work as glue or tylose mixed with water? I've got both on hand.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 19 May 2010 , 9:43am
post #5 of 10

I never use anything to glue the board down and have not had any problems at all with it slipping. If you really want to use something, tylose mixed with water glues everything icon_biggrin.gif and it's not as much trouble as making royal.

donnella2045 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
donnella2045 Posted 19 May 2010 , 10:07am