Copyright Ethics

Business By genevieveyum Updated 13 Aug 2010 , 4:16pm by costumeczar

genevieveyum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
genevieveyum Posted 19 May 2010 , 1:28am
post #1 of 104

I've got a lot of questions today! So, I'm a librarian by day and have a pretty good handle on copyright law as it applies to print, recordings and computer use, but I'm curious about how it applies to cakes. What do I say if someone wants me to make a character cake for them? Since it's not a lasting image, it's going to be eaten in a matter of days -does it still count? I know that copyright is a slippery slope, but I'd like any annecdotes or thoughts on this topic please!

103 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 19 May 2010 , 1:34am
post #2 of 104

Yes, it still counts. You can NOT make a cake of a copyrighted character and sell it. Most of the cakes with characters that you see on here were done by moms/aunts/grandmas for their families.

dalis4joe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dalis4joe Posted 19 May 2010 , 1:36am
post #3 of 104

agree.... even the wilton pans states... only for home use... not for retail sale.... and they are pretty serious about this....

kellertur Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellertur Posted 19 May 2010 , 1:55am
post #4 of 104

Don't do it for money, not even "cost"...some of my local competition accept these orders, illegal bakers, and my feelings are that they can deal with the $50,000.00 law suit. You'd think they'd have enough sense to put a disclaimer that the cakes were done for "demonstration purposes only" on thier sites, not advertise prices for Disney, etc. cakes.

I wouldn't want someone making money off of my original artwork...copying/remaking a cake is one thing, copying a protected character or protected design is just wrong in my opinion.
Always ask permission, they often say "yes".

psurrette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psurrette Posted 19 May 2010 , 2:09am
post #5 of 104