Please Help! Wedding Cake Pricing

Decorating By AmyMiller Updated 12 May 2010 , 9:45pm by Moondance

AmyMiller Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyMiller Posted 12 May 2010 , 2:51pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone!

I will be doing my first wedding cake for a friend of a friend in September. I am meeting with the bride this Saturday to go over details and talk pricing. I want to be prepared to give her a quote on the cakes she wants, but as I have never done a wedding cake before, I have no idea what to tell her. Could someone please help me or point me in the right direction?

There will be approximately 130 guests at the wedding. For the main cake she would like something similar to the first picture, but with simpler piping on the tiers. For the grooms cake she would like a Dallas Cowboy's version of the second picture and cupcakes similar to the third picture.

I am okay on pricing for the cupcakes as I do cupcakes often, but the cakes I am stuck on. Please help!!!

Thanks!!!
LL
LL
LL

4 replies
kellikrause Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellikrause Posted 12 May 2010 , 5:33pm
post #2 of 5

Probably check with some local bakeries and see what they are charging because it depends on what area of the country you are in. Also figure in how much your ingredients will be to make the cake and make sure you get charged for your time. You don't want to spend 10 hours decorating and only get paid enough to cover your ingredients! Also clarify if the bride will be purchasing the flowers to put on the cake or if you are purchasing or making them.

CBMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CBMom Posted 12 May 2010 , 5:34pm
post #3 of 5

Is the main cake to serve 130, and then the groom's cake, plus cuppies extra?

Is the cake buttercream or fondant?
Looks like BC...GC looks like ganache?

Prices can be whatever you are comfortable withicon_smile.gif