I Really Need Help!

Decorating By felin Updated 5 May 2010 , 1:57am by tmgarcia_98

felin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
felin Posted 29 Apr 2010 , 6:12pm
post #1 of 19

Hi All,

I am not a professional cake decorator, nor have I ever decorated a cake, other than those little cakes that you piece together to make a shape (for my kids when they were little), like the shape of a t-shirt, etc.

I am fairly creative, so would love to try my hand sometime.

I have a dilemma.

My sis is getting married on May 15th. Only 30 people coming (family only). She has asked that I make our family's favorite for her wedding. It is the "Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake." I'm thinking about trying to make 2 or 3 of them in cube shapes.

Here's the dilemma. I want to make it pretty, but cannot figure out a way to do that without changing the icing which she does NOT want me to do. Please look at the recipe I have attached and then, perhaps, you will understand. The icing is an unusual one.

The theme is outdoors India. It is being held at her home right by the river. If all else fails, I will just frost, as normal, and top with fresh flowers, but love the look of fondant and was hoping to do some sort of henna look on it as my sis is having her hands decorated with henna for the wedding.

Is it possible to top with fondant and then pull the fondant off and quickly frost with the real stuff or is that just crazy talk?

I would love any feedback that you all could give. Have included a pic that I found online that looks just like what I make. No idea if that helps at all or not.

Thanks again very much.
LL

18 replies
DianeLM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeLM Posted 29 Apr 2010 , 6:21pm
post #2 of 19

I can't really read the recipes. However, a good compromise would be to use the icing as a filling only. Then, you can cover the outside of the cake with whatever you like.