Aquarium Cake

Decorating By lam159 Updated 26 Apr 2010 , 5:46pm by lam159

lam159 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lam159 Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone! This is my 1st official post here. I just found this website and i am in love! I just started decorating cakes...I am a beginner...very basic. I have 3 cakes so far. No cake decorating classes near me that I have found yet. Anyways...my daughter is graduating high school in June. She is going to college to study sharks (marine biology). I am planning on doing her cake myself...trust me..i have gotten looks already. I have been talking to a few cake decorators already. Here is my plan...1/2 sheet (choc), i have gotten some shark stencils and need to copy them on cardboard so i can trace them onto pound cake. But I also am going to try using rice krispies and fondant..which ever works better for me. I am making shells, other fish, and turtles out of choc (with the help of molds) and those will be placed on the cake and on the tables. My major issue I haven't worked out yet was how i want to do the ocean and coral. one of the cake decorators said they had just seen something on the food network channel about melting sugar and pouring it onto kosher salt then covering with more salt and letting it go i think overnight. idk..can't find the episode. She kept raving about it though because it had the grooves and indents of real coral...has anybody seen or heard of this? I saw that a lot of people here use RI to make coral...will have to try that as well. I was thinking about using blue cotton candy and spreading it on the bottom. I would love to have some ideas!!! I am also having issues with frosting...will address that issue later! Thank you!!!

10 replies
Spuddysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spuddysmom Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 4:11pm
post #2 of 11