Never Done A Topsy Turvy Cake. A Few Questions...

Decorating By LoriMc Updated 29 Apr 2010 , 12:41am by Carmen7

LoriMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoriMc Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 3:23pm
post #1 of 14

Will it look ok in buttercream?

Do they have to be 3 layer cakes?

Am I crazy to add $1.00 extra per serving on the price for all this work?

Thanks!

13 replies
paulstonia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paulstonia Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 3:37pm
post #2 of 14

I'm not brave enough to do them in buttercream, but I've seen some posted and they look good. And I'm just a hobby baker, but I would definately charge more for topsy turvy. I don't think a $1.00 more is too much, might not be enough. For me they're a lot more stressfull icon_smile.gif I've done them with two layers, and I liked them.

taliascott Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
taliascott Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 3:55pm
post #3 of 14

you can do them with only two layers but they look really squatty, and keep in mind that you are cutting off the top half of the top layer and so the people getting served that side of the cake will only be getting a one layer serving...

LoriMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoriMc Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 4:15pm
post #4 of 14

Ahhhh the more I hear about this the less I want to do one. I think I might leave these for the tuttie fruttie bakery in town. LOL

icon_eek.gif

paulstonia Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 5:45pm
post #5 of 14

I don't cut the top off mine. I torte the top layer at an angle, the spin the top half around so the two thin sides are together and the thick sides are together and you have your slant. This is my first one, not the best exacution, it was done at the last minute for my daughters b-day, but it is 3 layers.
http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1324317
And this was done with two
http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1517600layers.