Anyone Have A Pic Of A Sarah's Rv Cake So I Can See Color?

Baking By lrlt2000 Updated 23 Apr 2010 , 2:30am by lngo

lrlt2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lrlt2000 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 4:38pm
post #1 of 14

I tried three different recipes this week, for a RV cake this weekend, and I was not happy with one or another thing. I have no experience with scratch cakes, and was a little hesitant to use one. The third thing I tried was just to doctor a DH box mix (German chocolate) and add *1/2 ounce* of dye as opposed to the full 1 oz. (I was originally looking for an all-natural recipe--tried the beet powder ones--but don't mind using a *reasonable* amount of dye!)

I really want to SEE the color of Sarah's scratch recipe before using it, so I know whether I will have to be adding a lot of dye to get the color I am looking for!

Thank you!

13 replies
metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 14

I am curious too! I can't seem to justify making a scratch version when it calls for a whole bottle of food coloring vs. doctoring a DH box mix that's $1.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 14

If you use 1 bottle of red food coloring form the grocery store it is very red. I didn't take a pic after it was cut.

lrlt2000 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 8:21pm
post #4 of 14

Strange, I just tried this recipe (I halved it, precisely), and the batter was not like typical cake batter--it did not pour but was thicker. I triple checked the ingredients, and triple checked my halving, and I have everything!

Is this normal!? It is in the oven, so I know I will eventually find out! I was just wondering if anyone had a comment on this consistency.

tiggy2 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 8:28pm
post #5 of 14

It's not always possible to halve or double a scratch recipe........you'll just have to see how it comes out.

linstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
linstead Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 8:37pm