Hello Everyone!!! Total Newbie Here!

Decorating By thescrapmaster Updated 17 Apr 2010 , 2:03am by anasazi17

thescrapmaster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thescrapmaster Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 2:10am
post #1 of 22

Hey everyone!! My name is Samantha and I am a total cake newbie (I can bake some things bur never decorated or used any sort of fondant or gum paste type things).

Could anyone send me in the right direction to get started learning about how to use fondant and such! I need cake 101.

Thanks in advance!

21 replies
dalis4joe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dalis4joe Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 2:18am
post #2 of 22

HI... welcome to caking and welcome to cake central... here you will find a wide range of cakesters from beginers to advance and pro... and they are all willing to help... I suggest starting with our HOW TO forum and going over everything you need to know about buttercream... a good cake starts with a great foundaton and that is a good start...

hth (hope that helps)
Good Luck!

ChoueiriCakeCo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChoueiriCakeCo Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 2:27am
post #3 of 22

Hello & welcome to CC! icon_smile.gif

I would suggest doing searches on youtube, there are hundreds of cake videos with very helpful tutorials (from stacking a cake, to crumb-coating, covering with fondant, etc).

For figure making, here is a compilation of tutorials that you should definitely save:

http://www.artandappetite.com/tutorials/

Good luck and have fun! Even if it takes a lot of practice, it'll all come to you with time thumbs_up.gif

enoid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enoid Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 2:33am
post #4 of 22

Welcome to Cake Central. Caking is a wonderful hobby/profession. The best part is you can eat your mistakes. icon_smile.gif The worst thing is you can eat your mistakes. (My waistline will tell you that.) You will quickly find these are very helpful and friendly people. The best place to start is in the forums.