Newbie Here And Wanted Help With Fondant.

Decorating By alehman Updated 15 Apr 2010 , 6:36pm by joyfullysweet

alehman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alehman Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:29pm
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone,

First off this website is amazing and I love all the support everyone gives each other. I am making my friends birthday cake and have been practicing with fondant. I made my own fondant out of marshmallows and it is very yummy. The only problem I have is that I am making a red dice cake and it took a lot of coloring to achieve this. When I finally put the fondant on cake it started to crack and slide off the cake. How do I get the color with out using so much color and how do I prevent it from cracking? If, any one is knowledgeable in this area I would appreciate it.
P.S. I did you Crisco to help from drying out.

Thanks,
Desperate Newbie

7 replies
ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:47pm
post #2 of 8

When I need colored fondant, I put the food coloring in while nuking the marshmallows. Doesn't take as much color. Wilton coloring takes a TON to achieve red. Try Americolor next time. Also, for cracking, just kneed more crisco in. Once MMF is made, I never add more powered sugar..always rub my hands in crisco when working with it.

Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:54pm
post #3 of 8

Yes, red is a really hard color to achieve. I personally have given up on both red and black. I just buy the small buckets of red and black Satin Ice to use when I need these colors. I think ddaigle's suggestion about using Americolor and coloring the fondant when you mix it are probably your best bets outside of buying ready-made. Good luck

Aedans_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aedans_Cakes Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:59pm
post #4 of 8

Alehman: What a great question! I was just about to ask the same thing!