Ka Pro600 Reviews

Decorating By TX_girl Updated 10 Apr 2010 , 8:51pm by totallymomma

TX_girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TX_girl Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 7:10pm
post #1 of 20

Hi folks! I'm a newbie here, I hope you don't mind me jumping up right away and asking for some advice icon_smile.gif

I've been using my mother-in-law's small artisan Kitchen Aid mixer and really like it, but it's barely big enough to make a decent sized batch of icing so I've been looking into getting a bigger one. A pro 600 to be exact.
But I started looking at the reviews on those things and now I'm scared!
They shut off after 10 to 15 minutes and you have to wait for it to cool off for 30 min. before you can use it again?
The gears break? I know it'll be under warranty for a while but even though the fixing of it won't cost I'm thinking the shipping back to get it fixed will be a killer!
So are they worth it?
Should I look into something else?
Thought? Advice?

Thanks in advance.

19 replies
Hillywu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hillywu Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 7:26pm
post #2 of 20

I have the 5 quart "professional" kitchen aid mixer and I love it. Received it as a wedding gift back in 2001 and have used it VERY regularly. Makes a perfect batch of Sugarshack buttercream. If it ever dies on me I know I'll go out and get another one ASAP. It is definitely one thing I would not want to be without. I am not sure on the pro 600 specifically. HTH.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 8:09pm
post #3 of 20

I have no idea what the reviews are saying but I have the KA600 pro and I simply love it! I use it nearly every day and have absolutely no problems from it at all.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 8:24pm
post #4 of 20

I have had the pro KA 600 for about 5 years and have had no problems. However, after hearing so much about the problem with gears, if it ever quits I'll probably look into a Viking.