Tips On Decorating With Fondant

Decorating By dimondmom Updated 7 Apr 2010 , 5:41pm by Win

dimondmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dimondmom Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 7:17pm
post #1 of 6

Hi - my son wants me to make him a Mario Bros. cake for his birthday on Saturday. I've found some amazing pictures of cakes onliine and have some ideas. I'm new to making cakes but I thought I would cover the cake in buttercream first and then cut out the figures from pre-colored fondant I bought. I also bought some Mario bros figurines on ebay (hoping they get here in time!) I've never used fondant so any tips that would help make it easier? I am baking the cakes now (Tuesday) and the party's Saturday. I thought I would freeze the cakes just so I could get some if done ahead of time.

some basic questions:
should I ice it with the buttercream and then freeze the cake? or should I freeze them without icing?

I read that fondant shouldn't be refrigerated or frozen so I am guessing that I'll need to decorate that the night before - is that correct?

I also bought a package of gumpaste since some of the cakes I saw online used this to form different figures. Is this easy to work with and to dye different colors?

thanks,
Carrie

5 replies
mama2_3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mama2_3 Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 7:39pm
post #2 of 6

Make sure to do your figures now so they have time to dry/ harden before Saturday. I would not frost before freezing. Take your cake out and let it come to room temp, frost and then cover with the fondant. Doing it Friday would be fine as long as your figures are done ahead of time (if you are like me, they will probably take the longest to do icon_razz.gif ). Good luck and have fun. Make sure to post pics of your cake when you get it done! icon_biggrin.gif

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 6