The Best Pre-Made Gumpaste????

Decorating By Chippi Updated 6 Apr 2010 , 7:01pm by KKristy

Chippi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chippi Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 9:26pm
post #1 of 13

I've used Wilton's but was just wondering if any advanced cake decorators have a favorite? icon_smile.gif

12 replies
Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 9:36pm
post #2 of 13

I'm not an advance decorator but I love using Fran Paste. It's not really pre-made, it is semi homemade. Other than that, I also love using Nicholas Lodge's recipe.

Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 9:44pm
post #3 of 13

I am only a hobbyist (for now) but I like Satin Ice Gumpaste.

cakemom42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemom42 Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 9:50pm
post #4 of 13

I love Nick Lodges!! Used it all the time!!

JaimeAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaimeAnn Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 9:51pm
post #5 of 13

I am not advanced ( Ry I think with your winning best of show you can call yourself advanced icon_smile.gif )

But I use the Nicholas Lodge recipe too. In a pinch I have used Wilton premade, Didn't like it BUT the wiltom mix (powder ina can you just add water too) works really well.

There are no cake decorating stores where I live and my only choices are Michaels and JoAnns or ordering online. (Even Michaels and Joann are an hour drive) So I try to keep a couple of cans of the wilton mix on hand in case I run out of Tylose and have to wait to get it online.

I am goilg to have to check out Fran Paste.....

11cupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
11cupcakes Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 10:06pm
post #6 of 13

I use Satin Ice and LOVE IT! Very easy to work with and flowers look great. I used Wilton before, it's usable but you'll see difference in your flowers with Satin Ice, it will save you some time too.

11cupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
11cupcakes Posted 5 Apr 2010 , 10:10pm
post #7 of 13