Huge Wedding Cake - Please Help

Decorating By khewitt24 Updated 2 Apr 2010 , 12:11pm by KHalstead

khewitt24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
khewitt24 Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 11:53pm
post #1 of 26

Hi!
I'm pretty new to the cake business and I just got an order for a wedding cake in October. I need some major help and advice!

My client wants a 4-5 tier round cake with flowers between each cake (a florist is doing the flowers.) Here is what I had planned out:

16" 4 layer (approx. 7-8" tall)
12" 4 layer
9" 4 layer
6" 4 layer
Anniversary topper

However, this will only feed about 315 and she needs something for 350-400 guests!
Please offer me any suggestions! Thank you!! icon_smile.gif

25 replies
NaNaof5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NaNaof5 Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 12:04am
post #2 of 26

Get those additional servings from sheet cakes.

adonovan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adonovan Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 12:06am
post #3 of 26

do your cake as planned and then make some sheet cakes with the same cake and icing, no one sees these and they are cut and served. You don't need the cake to be as big as the number being served. Good Luck

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 12:07am
post #4 of 26

Sorry, this will sound harsh, but you're "new to the cake business" and you are seriously thinking of trying to stack 7 TO 8 INCH TIERS?????????????

Very few experienced decorators would tackle that.

You'll need an amazing support structure to handle something that oversized and heavy..................Lots of time to stack on site, lots of help to stack on site, a ladder to stack on site.