Painting Freehand Or Use A Stencil For 3D Teacup.

Decorating By Kiddiekakes Updated 10 Apr 2010 , 1:08am by Elise87

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 10:18pm
post #1 of 13

I am making a few 3D Teacups for a teapot and tea cup cake.I have made the cups with a tutorial and they are drying but how do I go about painting pretty pink roses and levaes and vines on it after it dries..I am a terrible artist.Is there a stencil I can use or something to go by to help me? I want to paint the trim gold and have the cups look really pretty.

Any suggestions or stencils you are willing to post?

Thanks

Laurel icon_wink.gif

12 replies
ptanyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ptanyer Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 12:45am
post #2 of 13

Try contacting Elise87. She has done great painting work on her cake projects! Take a look at her photos - you are sure to be inspired and encouraged thumbs_up.gif

Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 1:04am
post #3 of 13

Well hello there, looky who i came across....HI PTANYER!!! long time no speak, nthanks for the nice words icon_smile.gif

N yes i freehand paint mostly on my stuff and unless you have a really flexable stencil to work with i reckon it might be a bit tricky.

Have you thought about maybe lightly sketching a design on the cup with greylead pencil first? (it's safe as there is actually no lead or anything and if a kid can eat a whole pencil and be ok then i reckon it's ok to draw on a tecup! lol). Then after that you can paint over it with your food colours and you shouldn't see the greylead underneath if it is light

Just take your time and don't rush it and it should be good icon_smile.gif

HTH

ptanyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ptanyer Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 1:15am
post #4 of 13