Help Asap Rainbow Cc Sinking

Baking By yummy Updated 7 Apr 2010 , 6:02pm by yummy

yummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 4:28am
post #1 of 14

I took them out the oven the toothpick came out clean then some of them started dipping in the middle. I put them back in the oven while I'm typing going to check. Any idea why this is happening?

13 replies
Katie1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katie1985 Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 4:46am
post #2 of 14

i read some where that if you open the oven too many times it causes the cake to sink because of fluctuations in temperature. Im a beginner so not really sure if thats true or not.

yummy Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 5:14am
post #3 of 14

Thanks Katie. I heard that to, years ago. I never open my oven until the bake time is just about over.

Ixtli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ixtli Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 5:39am
post #4 of 14

My first batch of cupcakes order time ago sunk -pretty low too -pun intended icon_smile.gif Anyways, I learned that opening the oven often or too early will do that to them.
I shake my stove to see if center moves (for cakes )
Not over beat my batter
and the best way of checking on them is follow your nose - once I start smelling the delicious cake/cupcakes -that's when I start keeping a close eye on them because it won't be very long before they are ready.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 1 Apr 2010 , 8:53pm
post #5 of 14

i Had the same thing happen last night to 2 dozen red velvet cupcakes ( I was using it for cake balls so it didn' tmatter.........but still)

my toothpick tested clean and then they all sunk in!! I mean, they had big beautiful domes and then 5 min. later........they looked like someone has squashed a ball in the center of them and then removed the ball.........they were totally caved in!

eatmorecakebakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eatmorecakebakery Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 3:05am
post #6 of 14