Did You Ever Agree To Do A Cake...

Decorating By Jayde Updated 31 Mar 2010 , 2:54am by mamawrobin

Jayde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jayde Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 13

and then last minute want to scream because you were stupid to agree to do a replica of someone else's far better work?

I am supposed to replicate this:

OMG I am freaking out, and its not because of the figures, its actually the volcano, which I already know how I am going to do it, I just am having issues with the irregular shape and carving and oh, I just dont wanna do it anymore...
LL

12 replies
robyndmy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
robyndmy Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 11:14pm
post #2 of 13

Ack, I've never done any shaping like that before, so unfortunately I have no tips... but I have support!! Go Jayde, you can do it!! icon_biggrin.gif

No, in all seriousness though, I'm sure a few of the experts will drop by in a bit with some helpful hints for you. In the meantime, don't underestimate your abilities! I'm sure your cake will still turn out amazing, and we'll all want to see pictures once it's done. icon_smile.gif

Tiffany29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiffany29 Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 11:15pm
post #3 of 13

Yes, I absolutely know how you feel. I was asked to do a bulldozer cake once. It almost had me in tears. I know that sounds stupid, but I am not good at carving and didn't want to mess up and have to start over.
(starting over really makes me want to quit, or have a beer!)
Then I kept putting it off and was trying to pull it together at the last minute, I literally finished the cake 15 min before pick up.

Stick to your plan. Take your time. I am sure you'll do a great job icon_smile.gif
Tell your customer their cake may not look exactly like the pic, but you'll do your best.

CCCTina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CCCTina Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 11:43pm
post #4 of 13