Wedding Order For Friend

Business By Noelle-and-Marie Updated 30 Mar 2010 , 8:31pm by Noelle-and-Marie

Noelle-and-Marie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Noelle-and-Marie Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 5:12pm
post #1 of 15

I have been decorating cakes as a hobby for many years and recently began to bring some to large social gatherings. Now, a friend of mine has asked me to make her wedding cake. She wants a 5 tier, 200 serving cake (buttercream with fondant decorations). I quoted her what I considered a low-mid price for such a monstrosity: $3 per serving.

She balked at the price, saying that $600 wasn't in her budget. I have been pricing all the cake boards, pans, separator plates, pillars and cake stand I will need (and don't own yet) and those costs alone are close to $300! icon_eek.gif

FIRST: Am I allowed to charge her more than material costs if I do not have a business license?

SECOND: Is $3 per serving really ridiculous for the NE Ohio area?

I've been reading about starting a business and am not sure I can afford to pay the fees and insurance costs when I am not planning to really do much more than 2 wedding cakes this year. I know I have the talent, but I am also homeschooling 3 kids and don't have the time to really make a go at a business right now.

Thanks for your help!

14 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 5:25pm
post #2 of 15

First, you firmly remind her "It's not a $600 cake. It's enough cake to feed TWO HUNDRED of your 'closest and dearest friends' who are coming to celebrate your wedding. $3 a person for 200 people is $600 no matter how you add it up. A $4 cup of Starbucks isnt' expensive .... until you're paying for 200 of them."

Two options: Give her the shopping list and have her buy you EVERYTHING you need (no substitutions allowed) and you get to keep everything as your "pay".

Or tell her "sorry, I can't do it cheaper than that. Good luck finding someone who can."