Any Self-Taught Cake Decorators

Decorating By Redsoxbaker Updated 14 Apr 2010 , 5:10am by Himee

tavyheather Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tavyheather Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 7:35pm
post #61 of 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by multilayered

The second cake I ever made I got goosebumps and looked at my husband and said "this is what I am supposed to be doing" Some people may find that funny or stupid because it is CAKE, but I don't care I love it, it is my passion and calling. I look forward to learning more and more and getting better and better. I truly love what I do and luckily I think I'm pretty good at iticon_smile.gif I'll add one of my more recent cake pic's.....

ahahha totally...I got a BA and wanted to be a teacher...just told hubby I "found my calling" and while he's amazingly supportive I know he was thinking.."not again"....lol I'm serious this time!!! lol, I know it feels like "just cake" but it's really art that's edible...you can't be unappreciative of ART, no matter what form it comes in

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 7:50pm
post #62 of 121

One thing I've noticed in this industry is that many of the most talented decorators are either self taught or have no formal training (i.e. pastry schooling), but rather have taken classes, joined ICES and hang out on the cake boards. Then practice, practice, practice!! icon_lol.gif

tavyheather Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tavyheather Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 7:52pm
post #63 of 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobwonderbuns

One thing I've noticed in this industry is that many of the most talented decorators are either self taught or have no formal training (i.e. pastry schooling), but rather have taken classes, joined ICES and hang out on the cake boards. Then practice, practice, practice!! icon_lol.gif

yay!! then there's hope for me icon_smile.gif

Tiffany29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiffany29 Posted 30 Mar 2010 , 8:09pm
post #64 of 121