Wanted: Freezing Advice And Instructions

Decorating By auntmandys Updated 30 Mar 2010 , 2:15am by ChoueiriCakeCo

auntmandys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntmandys Posted 29 Mar 2010 , 4:23pm
post #1 of 15

Hello, I have been decorating cakes for a few years now. However, I have yet to freeze a cake that I have decorated. But now I wonder if it would be worth it and help with time restraints. With that I have LOTS of questions, I hope you all are willing to help. I was wondering everyone's thoughts on a frozen cake compared to one baked a day before? Which do you prefer? Is one better than the other? Can you tell a difference? Can the customer tell a difference? How do you all freeze your cakes? Are they filled, crumb coated, on a board, or just separate layers wrapped and frozen? How do you thaw them? Still wrapped, in the fridge or out on the counter, or do you just start filling and crumb coating then? Basically all the advice and instructions I can get would be greatly appreciated! Also, any DON'TS would be appreciated as well! Thanks so much! icon_smile.gif

14 replies
confectionsofahousewife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
confectionsofahousewife Posted 29 Mar 2010 , 4:41pm
post #2 of 15