Flowers: Fresh, Sugar, Or Fake?

Decorating By ChoueiriCakeCo Updated 28 Mar 2010 , 5:46pm by ChoueiriCakeCo

ChoueiriCakeCo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChoueiriCakeCo Posted 28 Mar 2010 , 11:04am
post #1 of 14

Before I started making cakes (when I was only watching and had no idea all of the work it takes to make elaborate cakes), I thought "Everything must be edible!!". I knew that I wanted to learn how to make sugar flowers, but since I'm self taught, that's going much more slower than I hoped. I've seen cakes with beautiful sugar flowers, and cakes with fresh flowers that look just as good. For those of you who work with flowers, which do you prefer? Do your clients prefer fresh, sugar, or fake? And is there more of a demand for sugar flowers these days?

(My apologies if this has been asked before, I couldn't find anything in a search).

13 replies
mireillea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mireillea Posted 28 Mar 2010 , 11:37am
post #2 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChoueiriCakeCo

Before I started making cakes (when I was only watching and had no idea all of the work it takes to make elaborate cakes), I thought "Everything must be edible!!". I knew that I wanted to learn how to make sugar flowers, but since I'm self taught, that's going much more slower than I hoped. I've seen cakes with beautiful sugar flowers, and cakes with fresh flowers that look just as good. For those of you who work with flowers, which do you prefer? Do your clients prefer fresh, sugar, or fake? And is there more of a demand for sugar flowers these days?

(My apologies if this has been asked before, I couldn't find anything in a search).

Hi!
I pride myself in only selling cakes with sugar flowers. I don't like fake (silk or plastic) and I don't find real flowers very sanitary.