Satin Ice Ivory Fondant

Decorating By SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Updated 1 Apr 2010 , 10:04pm by greengyrl26

SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 26

Has anyone else had trouble with Satin Ice Ivory? Mine keeps tearing. I've tried everything... I'm not a novice at fondant, so I'm not sure if it's a bad batch or what. It's like it's not a solid look, like it has pieces coming apart. I've tried kneading it more....less....longer...shorter...upside down... adding crisco....adding cornstarch...adding sugar... right side up.... and holding my mouth differently...just won't stop tearing!!!!!!!!!UGGGG icon_mad.gif

25 replies
busymom-5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
busymom-5 Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 10:24am
post #2 of 26

We are having the exact same problem. We can roll it out and when we go to put it on the cake, it starts tearing on the top edge. This is the first time we have used Satin Ice and were really excited, now with a wedding cake to get out by Saturday, we are under the gun. We are thinking about going to buy a bunch of wilton fondant and try that.

alewop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alewop Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 10:35am
post #3 of 26

same problem! I've literally been up all night trying to get the right consistantcy. The only difference is mine is white satin ice. It doesnt make sense that the fondant can be sticky mushy....and breaking at the same time! I have to have this cake by sat. too and thought $ 80.00 fondant should have worked....GRRRR!

MissRobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissRobin Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 1:09pm
post #4 of 26

Are you kneading shortening in it? You also might be rolling it too thick and the weight is causing cracking.

busymom-5 Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:46pm
post #5 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MissRobin

Are you kneading shortening in it? You also might be rolling it too thick and the weight is causing cracking.