Best Mixer For The Busy Home Bakery?

Decorating By CutieMcCakes Updated 3 Apr 2010 , 2:28pm by Kitagrl

CutieMcCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CutieMcCakes Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 1:43pm
post #1 of 19

Hello! I am looking into upgrading my 4.5qt KA mixer and I am not sure what to get. I am constantly using my stand mixer now, so I need something that is very durable (for anything from cakes to breads) and amazing, but won't break the bank.

What do you guys have that you can't live without?

18 replies
merry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
merry Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 1:54pm
post #2 of 19

I use a 5 qt. KA Professional Mixer since 1994...it's a been a wonderful work horse; cakes, fondant, gum paste, bread, etc. KA also makes a 6 qt. mixer. Costco has very good prices on these mixers.

HTH icon_smile.gif

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 19

I have a Sunbeam Mixmaster and it serves me just fine. Some say that they can't use theirs for fondant but I use mine to make fondant 3 -5 times a week and have never had a problem. I also make a double batch of Indydebi's buttercream at a time and it comes out perfect with no air bubbles. I paid about $110.00 for mine at Wal-Mart over a year ago.

You ask for one that wouldn't "break the bank" so that's why I suggested the Sunbeam. Of course I would prefer the 6qt KA but can't afford one at the moment icon_cry.gif

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 2:53pm
post #4 of 19

icon_redface.gificon_cry.gificon_redface.gif Nevermind my last post. I just re-read your post and noticed you want something much different than what the sunbeam can offer. icon_redface.gificon_razz.gif I just saw "won't break the bank" and jumped on it icon_lol.gif I'm an idiot so excuse my first post. icon_rolleyes.gif

pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 3:05pm
post #5 of 19