Opinions On This Cake, Please

Decorating By heidemarie Updated 30 Mar 2010 , 3:45am by 2txmedics

heidemarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heidemarie Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 3:59pm
post #1 of 27

I'm a newbie at decorating, so please give an honest opinion of this cake. I have been baking cakes for years, but not decorating. It is a 6 layer yellow butter-cake with Swiss butter cream icing. Thanks in advance.
LL

26 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 27

I think it's very pretty...good job for a first effort. If I have to be picky about it I would tell you to work on your piping (and don't we all need to do that?) and make your lettering a bit smaller so it doesn't touch the outside trim or the flowers. Keep at it...I think you will grow as a caker very quickly if you keep working at your skills and this place is perfect for learning skills!

heidemarie Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 11:41pm
post #3 of 27

Thank You Catlharper for the nice Comments about My Cake, and Thank you very much for taking time to answer My Post. Any Advice is greatly appreciated.

dreamcakesmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dreamcakesmom Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 11:56pm
post #4 of 27

Nice job on your new efforts at decorating. A couple things to consider may be color choice, Green flowers with green leaves and writing is a little bit monotone. You lose a little of the detail of the leave against the flower because of this as well as I may cut back a little on the amount of leaves you pipe. Keep at it and can't wait to see your next try!

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 12:02am
post #5 of 27

Looks nice! Try slowing down a little and thinning your piping icing just a touch. Your roses look better then mine... I am still hoping for a miracle one day and to just be able to make them. LOL

Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 12:12am
post #6 of 27