Chocolte Cake - 70% Vs 85% Cocoa Does It Matter?

Baking By marknelliesmum Updated 22 Mar 2010 , 12:11pm by PinkZiab

marknelliesmum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marknelliesmum Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 2:16pm
post #1 of 4

Hi Guys
I am going to try out a choc cake recipe which calls for 70% cocoa chocolate to be used. All I could get in the store was 85% cocoa chocolate. Will this make a difference to the recipe?- i'm imagining that it will be more bitter that the 70% and am wondering if I should make the mix sweeter (scratch mix) or whether just to leave the original recipe as it is. I don't usually make choc cake as my friends and family (i'm a hobby baker) always ask for my lemon cake. My friend wants me to do her wedding cake next year and would prefer it to be a choc cake so over the next few months i'm going to try a few different recipes to see which is best.
Any advice from choc cake heroes would be most welcome.
Thanks thumbs_up.gif

3 replies
PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 2:44pm
post #2 of 4

It'll be fine... and no need to sweeten the mix. The only difference you need to pay attention to when purchasing cocoa powder for a specific recipe is whether it specifies natural or dutch process cocoa powder, as that will affect the chemistry of the recipe. Your cake will have a slightly stronger chocolate flavor but it won't be bitter, so no worries.

marknelliesmum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marknelliesmum Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 9:25pm
post #3 of 4