Torting Advice

Decorating By pinky73 Updated 19 Mar 2010 , 6:21pm by Bluehue

pinky73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinky73 Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 4:25pm
post #1 of 6

I am once again asking a dumb question and hoping that those of you with experience can give me some helpful tips.
How do you torte your layers? I made a 9x13 layer, let it cool on the counter and used the Wilton leveler to split. I have heard of the Agby (spelling?) but I'm no pro and can't justify the investment.
I had a really hard time getting those skinny (1" or so) layers of cake transfered to the board and then after laying on the filling, it was tricky to get the second delicate layer on top of that without it breaking apart. My cake didn't break but holly cow, it almost did. Is it better to freeze or at least refrigerate those layers before moving them around? Is there a special tool other than my clean hands and forearm to lift them with?
I only split one layer but if I was doing more for a 4" tall cake, I'm afraid the sides would get all cattwampus. Do you trim the sides after you torte and fill but before a crumb coat?
Thanks in advance for any advice you are willing to share!

5 replies
JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 4:47pm
post #2 of 6

Use a cake board and after you cut it slide it under the slice and lift then to put it back on slide it off the board onto the cake. I think a cold cake torts easier for me, I am no pro though.

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 4:47pm
post #3 of 6

I use a flat cookie sheet with no sides to transfer the cake 1/2s.