Newbie Pricing Help, Pretty Please?

Decorating By katies_cakes Updated 19 Mar 2010 , 4:20pm by KarmaStew

katies_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katies_cakes Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 7:32pm
post #1 of 4

My mother in law took her mothers day cake to work to share with everyone, and they loved it. a few of them want to know if i will make them a cake but im not good with pricing. im still really new and learning and dont feel that i can charge much for my work. but i cant pass up the oppertunity for the experience! i dont want to charge per serving yet. iv looked at how much my ingredients etc cost and was thinking that if i include everything..

3 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 7:37pm
post #2 of 4

charging per serving vs. charging per cake is just a matter of semantics. How far down do you want to do the math?

Cost of ingredients + cost of labor (which includes gas and time to go buy supplies, clean up, etc) + profit amount = price of cake. "Cost per serving" is just taking that price and dividing it by the number of servings the cake will serve.

If you choose to offer a flat price per cake (and many do), I would recommend you do the math to see that you are being consistent in the overall pricing structure; to see that your avg price-per-serving is about the same. Otherwise, your pricing may be all over the board which is a sign that you are not being consistent and may be shorting yourself price-wise.

katies_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katies_cakes Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 4

In the price, (boards, box, ribbon and most decorations) but charge extra for modles of people/animals and large handmade flowers. would it be ok for a 6" for £20 a 8" for £25 and a 10" for £30?? does that sound ok or too much?

i also have no idea of how to charge for fondant modles/flowes. as that is more about my time than the ingredients?!

any help would be great. TIA