New Cake Maker Seriously Thinking Of Starting A Buisness.

Business By Shelly11 Updated 17 Mar 2010 , 9:11pm by RobzC8kz

Shelly11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shelly11 Posted 16 Mar 2010 , 12:42am
post #1 of 10

Hi! I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on how to start a cake making buisness. I am a surgical nurse by day, and have no clue on where to start with making my hobby into a buisness. I started making cakes about a year ago for family and friends, and now I get so many people asking me to make cakes for them. I have a hard time excepting money for my time since I love to make cakes, so I only ask for the cost of ingredients (which is really not much).

It is getting where I have been making more elaborate cakes for people, which takes me hours and hours to do, and really want to make this hobby into my career because I honestly love to do it. I still have a lot to learn, but would really love some advice/encouragement/etc.

Thanks,
Shelly

9 replies
cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 16 Mar 2010 , 12:43am
post #2 of 10

Do you want to do this from your home? You need to find out if you can do so legally in your state. Some states require seperate buildings or commercial property.
That's your first step.

Shelly11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shelly11 Posted 16 Mar 2010 , 12:50am
post #3 of 10

I actually would rather not have the buisness out of my home. I have a kitten and a golden retriever and keeping them out of the kitchen while I am making cakes for my friends and family is a huge pain.

I was thinking of possibly doing it from my inlaws house. They have a seperate kitchen in their basement.

Thanks for your information. It looks like I will have a lot of research to do.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 16 Mar 2010 , 3:22am
post #4 of 10