How Do I Tie A Satin Bow Around A Cake

Decorating By Mrspolkadot Updated 11 Mar 2010 , 10:31pm by Baker_Rose

Mrspolkadot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mrspolkadot Posted 10 Mar 2010 , 2:54pm
post #1 of 13

Hello everyone

Im pretty new to the forum, Im a hobbyist and am doing my wedding cake for next monday. Ive bought a length of ribbon and a brooch and have been practicing on a dummy-but with no joy. My bow looks very bulky. Is there a step by step around to help please?

12 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 10 Mar 2010 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 13

you're not going to actually tie the ribbon around the cake into a bow. It's an optical illusion. You would wrap the ribbon around the cake and secure it to itself so it stays in place. Then attach an already formed bow to cover up the ends of the ribbon.

Hope that Helps

Mrspolkadot Posted 10 Mar 2010 , 5:26pm
post #3 of 13

I thought that was the case, can you give me some more information please? I cant get my head around folding the bow, and then securing it and the brooch to the band on the cake.

And thank you for taking the time to answer my question, it really is appreciated.

Ladiesofthehouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladiesofthehouse Posted 10 Mar 2010 , 5:49pm
post #4 of 13

This may not be the exact same bow you are talking about, but it gives some good pointers:

http://www.cakejournal.com/archives/how-to-make-a-ribbon-bow

ninatat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ninatat Posted 10 Mar 2010 , 10:24pm
post #5 of 13

hi all did you see the 3D knitting needle cake, i get the base, brick mat, twisted fondant around edge and needles, but the yarn, rice crispies?

Mrspolkadot Posted 11 Mar 2010 , 1:32pm
post #6 of 13

Thank you, that tutorial is very helpful regarding the band. Not quite the look Im after on the bow but I'm going to try and improvise.

KHalstead Posted 11 Mar 2010 , 1:46pm
post #7 of 13

are you physically having trouble tying the bow itself??