Bridal Shows / Feature Cake Vendors

Business By dalis4joe Updated 9 Mar 2010 , 2:03am by dalis4joe

dalis4joe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dalis4joe Posted 8 Mar 2010 , 5:17pm
post #1 of 8

I want to start doing some bridal shows.... every call I have made so far....
"Sorry... we ALREADY have a featured cake vendor"...

How do we overcome that obstacle?
How do you become a feature vendor?
Are there shows that have more than one cake vendor?

Help!
icon_confused.gificon_confused.gificon_confused.gificon_confused.gificon_confused.gificon_confused.gificon_confused.gif

7 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 Mar 2010 , 6:04pm
post #2 of 8

Many bridal shows will limit the number of vendors in a category. As a photographer, I wouldn't prefer to be in a show that had 2 cake ladies, 3 DJ's and 47 photographers. Sounds like you need to get on their list early. Ask them "how can I get on the list for the next show?" YOu missed this one ... start planning for the next one! thumbs_up.gif

I am seeing more and more smaller shows being planned where the organizer is showcasing just one, maybe two, vendors in a category. Again, key is getting your name on their list early. Get on ALL of the lists for ALL of the shows in case an opening doesn't show up on your first show of choice.

jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 8 Mar 2010 , 11:31pm
post #3 of 8

Debi's right. Go ahead and ask for next year.

Also, do you have any networking going on with others in the wedding industry? I have found out about several smaller bridal shows from the networking group that I belong to.

dalis4joe Posted 8 Mar 2010 , 11:58pm
post #4 of 8

great tip Debi.... I will call again and do that! also... I was able to book one for September... so that gave me hope... but I didn't think about asking them to add me for the following year/show...

Jill: