Wedding "sample" Cake

Business By ladybug76 Updated 6 Mar 2010 , 3:54pm by revskg

ladybug76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybug76 Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 6:14pm
post #1 of 22

Hi!! I am fairly new to the wedding cake arena, as my business opened back in December. With summer weddings quickly approaching, all my consultations have ran smoothly; however, I have one bride requesting a "sample" design cake prior to signing a contract. icon_confused.gif She wants a 6-8" fondant covered, fondant "film" strip (it's a 1950's Hollywood feel), scroll work (from molds) along with top hat... which I already have a top hat cake she has viewed during a recent bridal faire. Her consultant is informing her this is 'normal'. Wasn't "normal" for me when I married nearly 7 years ago.. but wasn't sure about modern brides, especially since none of my other brides have requested one.
Thanks for the help!
~Jaime

21 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 22

No, that's not NORMAL, but it is NUTS!!!

Clearly dimwit bride is confusing a few small cake samples (for taste and combo ideas only) with the idea of receiving--for free, I'd guess??--a miniature version of her desired wedding cake!

If you WANT to do it, go ahead, but charge her accordingly--no discounts, no freebies, etc. If you don't want to do it, explain to her that a tasting sample will in no way, shape, or form, resemble a real wedding cake--that it may be a few fillings and/or icing flavors to smear on a couple of different flavors of cupcakes.

These brides just get dumber every day...........

Rae

tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 6:20pm
post #3 of 22