Has Anyone Made Their Own Wedding Cake?

Decorating By LindseyLoocy Updated 5 Oct 2010 , 7:14pm by SugarMoon

LindseyLoocy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindseyLoocy Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 12:30am
post #1 of 16

I'm getting married in two months! This was decided LAST WEEK and I am so overwhelmed already. I have the tiniest budget and I've no experience planning a wedding, lol. It's going to be small and casual, maybe 50 if that many. The most important things to me are the dress and the cake, naturally. I just reserved a venue and now I can start on invitations and all the other stuff. BUT, the cake! I just can't imagine paying big bucks for a cake when I could do it myself.

I work in a bakery, but I'm not doing the wedding cakes. The guy that does is pretty much my best friend and I trust him, but I don't want the cake we use, OR the buttercream. I want to make it myself, but at the same time i know I'll have other things to do. So my question is....thanks for reading this far, lol.. who has made their own cake and how did it work out for you?

15 replies
rainbow_kisses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rainbow_kisses Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 12:42am
post #2 of 16

I made my own wedding cake (the one in my photos with teh tatty bears on top) I find making cakes very theraputic to make so enjoyed doing it. But I had the cakes made in advance so that I only had to defrost and fill, the cover in fondant. I had a very plain cake so had to ensure there was no flaws in the fondant. I used a simple flow of fabric down the side and a rbbon that wa sused on my invitations around the tiers very simple but just what I wanted.

Good luck with your wedding and your cake icon_smile.gif

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 12:50am
post #3 of 16