Wow I've Never Encountered This...

Decorating By tavyheather Updated 3 Mar 2010 , 6:36am by CakeEvolution

tavyheather Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tavyheather Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 4:55am
post #1 of 15

This is the conclusion? to my other post "client got a quote for WHAT??!!"...

so now she wants me to do the cupcakes and get the top cake from the cheap place...I have 2 concerns:

my name and reputation is now combined with a $16 cake

and I'm letting her borrow a stand for all of it...

Have you ever let anyone do this?! Maybe this is normal..I'm new to all this...

14 replies
cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 5:07am
post #2 of 15

I have an all or nothing clause in my contract. Either I provide all the cake for the party (or wedding) or none of that.

You need to tell her the same thing. DO NOT let her borrow your stand unless she is ordering all the cake from you.

Type up a contract and get a non-refundable deposit before you do anything else with this person. Get a CASH refundable deposit for the stand.

If she gives you a hard time, tell her "I think you should find another baker more suited to your needs."

Seriously, this woman screams PITA and is trying to take advantage of you and your inexperience as a business person. Get a backbone with her NOW or you are in for a lot of problems.

tavyheather Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 5:10am
post #3 of 15

ok. thanks. It's messy 'cause it's my good friend's cousin. I am in for a lot of drama but I am not going to start this out getting completely taken advantage of! Thanks for the response!!! You gave me the motivation!

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 5:20am
post #4 of 15

Do yourself a HUGE favor and decline this job... no good can come of it.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 5:22am
post #5 of 15