How To Make A Chapstick Cake

Decorating By rosamatsas Updated 2 Mar 2010 , 12:43pm by rosamatsas

rosamatsas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosamatsas Posted 1 Mar 2010 , 8:51pm
post #1 of 3

Hi Everyone. My sister-in-law asked me to take pictures of the process I used to make this cake. She loves my work but wanted to see a before and after. I did it for her and now i would like to share it everyone on CC.

Step 1: Prepare Oreo Buttercream Filling

Step 2: Prepare the regular buttercream for exterior icing

Step 3: Take your cooled cake and trim off any hard edges (i get them all the time). This is a peice of cake baked in a 12x18 sheet pan. I had used 1/3 of the cake for a different cake order and 2/3 for this one.

Step 4: Level, tort and fill. I personally like to torte my cakes, its a personal choice.

Step 5: Shaping the cake. I start at the top and use sharp serated knife to cut away from the top of the cake. I hold my knife about 45 degrees. Once most of it is trimmed, i switch my to bread knife which is nice a long and seratedto get a more circular feeling on top. Once that is done, I move on to shaping the bottom. I use the same method, a small sharp serated knife, i come in at a an angle and cut in and away. You don't want to go to extreamon your angle. I think it would depend on how your cake can handle it. This was a pretty dense cake and i have worked with it before so ii knew it would hold it shape.

Step 6: Dirty Ice, crumb coat. Whatever you call you - just do it. Set it to the side, or in the fridge or freezer to set its shape.

Step 7: One the first coat is solid, pt on a secondary coat. I use this coat to help hape out the circular shape. I also used a spatula dipped in HOT water to smooth the icing (not pictured) Set it aside once again in the fridge or counter to stiffen up.