What Do You Do When Your Discouraged?

Decorating By tirechic Updated 27 Feb 2010 , 5:54pm by cakesrock

tirechic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tirechic Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 7:49pm
post #1 of 12

I have not been at this very long, and for a little while now I have been getting more and more discouraged. I am a wilton Instructor, and that side has been rewarding, but when I go to make cakes personally, I feel I am making no improvements. I thought I would be better by now. What do you do to get motivated again? I hope I put this in the right forum. Any feedback would be great. Thank you.....

11 replies
foxymomma521 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
foxymomma521 Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 7:54pm
post #2 of 12

I take "cake breaks". I've been decorating for 3 years, but I take a hiatus every 6 months until I get bit by the decorating bug again. I think when you stay away for a bit it helps you appreciate it again. JMHO icon_smile.gif

AngelaM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelaM Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 8:07pm
post #3 of 12

Red wine. icon_lol.gif

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 8:14pm
post #4 of 12

One thing I like to do is to learn a new technique. It keeps things interesting for me. Is there an ICES DOS anywhere near where you are? (they usually have classes 2x a year and demos - a fun weekend) I always like the challenge of learning something new -and the feeling of accomplishment when I have nailed it! It may be that you are just bored with it - spice it up some! thumbs_up.gif

tirechic Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 8:23pm
post #5 of 12