Writing On The Sides Of A Cake

Decorating By pastryqueen9 Updated 26 Feb 2010 , 4:19pm by pastryqueen9

pastryqueen9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryqueen9 Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 12:45am
post #1 of 16

I see lots of really nice pictures with cakes that have writing on the sides of the tiers...I have a client who wants this done on her cake...Can anyone offer me a good method for achieving this? I have never done it before...Help!!

15 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 12:54am
post #2 of 16

Whenever I do anything on the side of a cake I use the tilting turntable so I can look at it from eye level (that's the key.)

TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 12:57am
post #3 of 16

Are you writing on a buttercream or fondant cake? You can cut a strip of paper the height that you want your writing to be at, and use that as a guide while you pipe on the writing. You'll have to go back later to add any hanging-down parts of the letters, like Ps and Qs and Ys. Definitely have someone proofread for you to make sure you didn't leave any letter tails off! That method works best on fondant cakes, but if you're very careful, you can do it on buttercream cakes, too. I once did it that way where a couple wanted three verses of their theme song on the sides of their wedding cake.

HTH,
Deanna

dsilbern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilbern Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 1:13am
post #4 of 16

I agree with bobwonderbuns on the tilting turntable. And I laughed as I typed that screen name! icon_lol.gif

bobwonderbuns Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 1:15am
post #5 of 16

Don't ask how I got it -- please don't ask! icon_lol.gif

icingimages Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icingimages Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 2:54am
post #6 of 16

I use SugarVeil and Pipe it ahead and then lay it on. Or I print on an image and lay it out. I dont have a steady hand!

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile