Help!!! Sculpting Woman For Top Of Cake...

Decorating By mamaof3cutiez Updated 23 Feb 2010 , 2:57am by Price

mamaof3cutiez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamaof3cutiez Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 10:17pm
post #1 of 5

HELP! I have a friend that has her heart set on a cake that is a tall square present cake with a woman "popping" out of the top holding a champagne glass in one hand and a bottle in the other. (She needs to be about 6 inches tall, just from the waist up). I really want to make this for her, but I have been looking and searching all weekend trying to find how to do this the easiest since I have very little experience sculpting and have never made a person. I have no problem making the cake it's just sculpting the woman that I am having a nervous break down over! I tried to make it with just fondant, but it wasn't firm enough/didn't hold it's shape well enough and was just "melting" as I tried to sculpt her. Please lend me your wisdome on this one! I really want to make this for her! It's her 30th birthday! What is best to use to sculpt with, modeling chocolate, fondant, gumpaste? do I need wire or dowels in the middle for the body or arms? How to attach the arms/head? I am a newbie, so any and all advise and instruction would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

4 replies
rcolson13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rcolson13 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 5

I am pretty new myself. My best guess is to sculpt the women out of a mixture of rice krispies and modeling chocolate. I saw a post where someone made pepe le pue (sp?) out of it and it worked well. HTH!

Price Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Price Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 12:10am
post #3 of 5

Using the rice krispys is a good suggestion. I've never tried it myself, but have seen some nice figures made with them.