Help With Stacking Cakes...

Decorating By roxie007 Updated 23 Feb 2010 , 7:32pm by Adevag

roxie007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
roxie007 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 14

I have two cakes to pull off this week, and I haven't had much experience with stacking cakes...any advice you can give me on the cake boards to use for the stacked cake (not the bottom cake), I have cardboard cake boards, what should I cover this with for the 2nd & 3rd cake...and what if the cake shrinks and the 6" round cake is smaller than the 6" round board...should I trim the cake board so it doesn't peek out?

Any 'stacking' tips you can provide would be GREAT!

13 replies
metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 10:09pm
post #2 of 14

I'm still a beginner, but I've learned a lot from this site. I trim my cardboard cake boards to the size of the baked cake (e.g. my 6" rounds sometimes turn out to be more like 5.5" ... so I cut out a 5.5" circle). I cover both sides of the board with Press'n Seal.

I've been stacking with bubble tea straws.

HTH!

roxie007 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 11:06pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks! Bubble tea straws that is an excellent idea! I have a bunch of cookie sticks...they are a bit thin, but I think they'll do the trick!

Thanks for the reply- I always wondered how people could keep the board from sticking out...cause my cake always shrinks a bit!

Cheers icon_smile.gif

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 11:20pm
post #4 of 14

It's difficult to not smudge the icing when you pick up a tier by the board and try to place it on another tier. another tip i read is to only insert your supports (e.g. bubble tea straws) only partially into the lower tier. then place your upper on it and let gravity take it all down...that way you have some time to gingerly get your fingers out from under the cake ... use your spatula to coast it down.

LuvLyrics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile