Getting A Stacked Cake Completely Level

Decorating By katies_cakes Updated 21 Feb 2010 , 5:38pm by katies_cakes

katies_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katies_cakes Posted 21 Feb 2010 , 2:50pm
post #1 of 8

Does anyone have any tips on getting a tiered stacked cake compleatly level? i have to say i am not very good at cutting a completely straight and level line free-handed. i dont want the cake to look uneven when finished! how does everyone else do it? x

7 replies
tsal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tsal Posted 21 Feb 2010 , 3:14pm
post #2 of 8

I use the wilton leveler (which I modified) when leveling a cake.

Eisskween Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Eisskween Posted 21 Feb 2010 , 3:24pm
post #3 of 8

I bought a small level at Home Depot and I use it on a paper towel to check that each layer is level after I tort, after laying on fondant and after I stack. Overkill maybe, but nothing worse than worrying about your cake holding up after you leave the venue.

I use the small Wilton leveler, I bought the large, waste of money, it's crap. The small one has a wire, I would much rather use a wire. Come to think about it, maybe I will have the hubby modify the large one for me. The blade on the large one is really junk.

bettinashoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bettinashoe Posted 21 Feb 2010 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 8

I also use a small level from the local hardware store. Works well for me. I only use my Wilton leveler on small cakes as the reviews on the large one were not positive. I really don't even use the small one much anymore as I read in one of the forums a tip on torting by putting toothpicks around the cake at the point where you want to cut the layers. I find this works really well on larger cakes. The level was the best investment I could have made.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 21 Feb 2010 , 4:01pm
post #5 of 8