Cake Decorating Class/ Schooling

Business By jsc2010 Updated 22 Feb 2010 , 11:02pm by davespeg

jsc2010 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jsc2010 Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 10:03pm
post #1 of 16

I am inquiring about furthering my cake decorating education. I am 40 years old with a husband and 4 kids. I live rural northern michigan area. I have been decorating cakes as a hobby for over 20 years. My skills were limited to birthday cakes. I love to bake. I learned a lot from my mom who did wedding cakes.

Last year I took Wilton courses 1 & 2. I already knew most of what was taught. I just did my first wedding cake, 4 tier stacked just decorated with rosettes. But I would love to further my learning and am considering taking the Wilton Master course in Illinios. But it is 7 hours from my home. I would love to take other classes but most of what I've seen are longer durations.

Does anyone know of any other quick study courses in cake decorating. And has any one taken the Wilton master course and what are your thoughts? I am wanting to start a cake decorating business and possibly a dessert shop. I have so many people asking me to buy my cakes now that they have seen and tasted them.

Would love your comments!
Jane

15 replies
pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 10:19pm
post #2 of 16

Check with your local community college, mine offers all kinds of classes in the culinary arts.

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 10:22pm
post #3 of 16

if you want to do it as a business, its also worth seeing what business course you can go on.

check you local (or not so local) cake shops - some may offer classes too.
xx

Aurora_333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aurora_333 Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 10:25pm
post #4 of 16