Oil Or Butter? Please Help Me Understand Their Effects.

Decorating By Mb20fan Updated 18 Mar 2014 , 12:21am by hbquikcomjamesl

Mb20fan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mb20fan Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 5:22pm
post #1 of 20

Hello all...I'm a newbie! This is actually my first post in the forum and I hope I find success in getting my question answered or discussed. icon_biggrin.gif

OTHER THAN TASTE:
Why do some recipes call for oil and some call for butter? If you want a moist cake, is oil better? If you need density, is butter better? I'd love to explore what the advantages are to using each. Again, not looking for the obvious (taste or health reasons), moreso trying to learn how it affects the outcome of the cake as far as it's texture, moistness and density. ANY input would be appreciated. Thank you kindly. thumbs_up.gif

Shay

19 replies
2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 5:32pm
post #2 of 20

Welcome to CC. We do have some chemically minded members here - so hopefully they will see your post and help answer. I wish I could help.

sweetsbyl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetsbyl Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 5:39pm
post #3 of 20

This is what I've experienced! The cakes with oil are lighter and moist but at times too oily. The cakes with butter are denser and not as moist.

Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 5:40pm
post #4 of 20

It seems to me that Indydebi would be the one with a good answer!

Either that or Alton Brown would know for sure!

Larkin121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Larkin121 Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 5:56pm
post #5 of 20

My understanding is that the purpose of the fat is to coat the protein molecules in the flour, thus inhibiting the gluten formation (too much gluten makes a tough baked good).