Freezing Royal Icing Transfer??

Decorating By countrygal Updated 22 Feb 2010 , 9:20pm by TexasSugar

countrygal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
countrygal Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 1:43am
post #1 of 10

So...i've never done this before. The icing is easy to make but getting it to just the right consistency is hard. LOL The first part of the transfer was so hard my hand was clenched and shaking trying to get it out. (even though it didn't feel that hard.) The rest went better. It's for my mom's cake but more of a test to see how it does...and i'm gonna make a high heel with RI if it works.

But my question is: Can you stick it in the freezer to harden?? I stuck it in a container and it went from crusty to soft.

**I'll post a photo as soon as my cameras battery recharges. icon_razz.gif

9 replies
antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 12:38pm
post #2 of 10

Royal icing may "harden" slightly in the freezer, but it's still malleable and not at all like a buttercream transfer. As soon as you take it out of the freezer, it will go all runny and sticky again.

It probably didn't harden in your container either because it needs to be exposed to air in order to crust and dry out. That takes 12-24 hours to accomplish.

Why not just ice a high heeled shoe cookie in royal icing instead? I did a cake like that a few years ago, super simple. When it's dry, you can lay it down flat, prop it up a little or even use it as a stand-up topper...PLUS you can eat it. icon_lol.gif
LL

countrygal Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 10:04pm
post #3 of 10

Thanks. Momma put a dish towel over the container and it seems to be hardening okay.

here is what it looks like.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 10:39pm
post #4 of 10

Do you still have icing left over? When is the cake due?