Would Love Honest Opinion On What You Would Do For This..?

Decorating By gina0475 Updated 22 Mar 2010 , 4:24pm by chem_mc

gina0475 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gina0475 Posted 13 Feb 2010 , 2:14am
post #1 of 28

cake.

So my mother in law works at a church and they are having a chocolate theme event at the church, and she would like me to do a show piece to try to build a bit of a customer base in her area.
I have been making cakes for a few years now and I am confident... ahht hum... until the week of, that is. and then I loose my nerve and screw up. SO, I come here. Anyway what you see here is a cake she and I found and it was so pretty and looks like chocolate decadence so we decided on something very similar.
I would like to pick your creative brains. Now I have my own ideas for this cake. Such as, every layer will be chocolate cake. The filling and coating is all that will change. Some layers will have chocolate mousse, others white chocolate mousse, and one or two with a peanut butter mousse. I think I have all this down.

I intend to cover the dark chocolate layers with chocolate ganache

I would like to cover the white layers with white chocolate ganache but here is where I fall short. I have never made white chocolate ganache and every time I try, it comes out BAD so what would you do for the white layers? and how would you do the swirls?
AND how do you suggest I dont make it come out looking really bad? (hehehe I know that part is on me)
LL

27 replies
sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 13 Feb 2010 , 2:30am
post #2 of 28

I haven't used it myself, but I've heard that there's a good recipe for homemade white choc fondant and that it tastes pretty good. Perhaps someone with the recipe can post it here for you.

That's an amazing cake BTW.

The_Lil_Cakehouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
The_Lil_Cakehouse Posted 13 Feb 2010 , 2:30am
post #3 of 28