How Do I Get A Nice Clean Cut When Using Tappits?

Decorating By drakegore Updated 15 Feb 2010 , 9:41pm by dalis4joe

drakegore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drakegore Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 2:03am
post #1 of 17

i am not a beginner at using tappits, but lately i have been having a lot of trouble getting a nice clean cut. the edges of my letters are rough (see the photo).

i use crisco on my cutting board and let the fondant rest before cutting and have no trouble with the letters sticking. but when i go to pull away the excess fondant from the letter, i get furry egdes that look really bad.

does anyone have any tricks or tips for getting really nice clean edges on the letters?

thank you!
diane
LL

16 replies
drakegore Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 2:07am
post #2 of 17

here's a better illustration of the problem (that other photo came thru too small):
LL

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 2:12am
post #3 of 17

I press down very hard and move it back and forth before lifting up. That seems to help me.

tarheelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tarheelgirl Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 2:15am
post #4 of 17

I do the same thing.. move it around and it comes out clean.

drakegore Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 2:16am
post #5 of 17

i forgot to mention i do that. i gently push the cutter up and down and slightly side to side, and i am still getting the hairy edges. as far as i know i am doing everything right and still screwing up, lol.

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 3:53am
post #6 of 17

I found it helps a bit if you let the fondant or gumpaste sit out for a bit before using the cutter....so it's not so soft.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 4:04am
post #7 of 17

Yeah you should let the fondant dry a bit, and it should be rolled very thin. Then wiggle around a bit when you cut it.