Boy Scout Emblem

Decorating By cokezero Updated 18 Feb 2010 , 4:02pm by kpry

cokezero Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cokezero Posted 7 Feb 2010 , 8:51pm
post #1 of 11

Is there a good trick to creating the boy scout emblem or eagle scout emblem out of fondant/gumpaste? I'm not good at free hand...are there any molds out there? Ideas?

10 replies
ramie7224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ramie7224 Posted 7 Feb 2010 , 9:23pm
post #2 of 11

You could try tracing the image onto wax paper and then lay it over your fondant/gumpaste and cut out with an exacto knife. I don't know specifically about a mold. You might be able to make your own. There's a tutorial on here somewhere. The one for making lace molds is on the main page. You can probably adapt that if you have one of the patches that goes on the uniform.

Melchas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melchas Posted 7 Feb 2010 , 9:41pm
post #3 of 11

I actually just made an Eagle Scout Badge for a Court of Honor tomorrow. I found a simple pic and printed it out and used an excato knife to cut out the parts and then water to glue" them together.

Another optionis to use royal icing. Print out the design, cover it with wax paper and trace it. Use stiff RI to make the outlines and then fill in with thined out RI.

It's what I used to make the cowboy, skull and bakugan cakes in my pics. HTH.

paula1234 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula1234 Posted 8 Feb 2010 , 4:44am
post #4 of 11

I have candy molds that are the boy scout and cub scout emblems. I am making a 5 tier cake for our Blue and Gold banquet in 2 weeks. Each tier is a certain theme. I am usig theme as push molds for fondant. Then I am going to paint them. You could do a chocolate transfer.

cokezero Posted 9 Feb 2010 , 7:10pm
post #5 of 11

all good ideas! Thank you!! Can you give me more specifics on the chocolate transfer? Thanks!!

paula1234 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula1234 Posted 9 Feb 2010 , 8:21pm
post #6 of 11