Costing Question

Decorating By sherrycanary62 Updated 4 Feb 2010 , 4:34pm by TexasSugar

sherrycanary62 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sherrycanary62 Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:12pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, I am just a hobby baker but I want to keep track of what it is costing me to make a cake and I might at that I am a math nerner!!!

how do I calculate a per serving...for instance

1 can of shortening...paid 3.14 there are 108 tablespoons per can...that comes out to 6.75 cups per can...how to I calcuate the per cup cost? multiply what by what? divide what by what?

TIA

Happy Caking
Sherry

8 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:28pm
post #2 of 9

it is a lot of maths! made easier if you set up a spreadsheet, then you can easily allow for changes in price, add up the cost of a cake.
divide the cost of the ingredient by the measure you use - i will tell u tht grams is easier than 0.X of a cup! so 1 cup = so many cents. your recipe calls for 2 cups, so 2 x last answer.
xx

bbmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bbmom Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:32pm
post #3 of 9

You would take the cost $3.14 and divide it by the 6.75 cups and that would tell you how much $ per cup. 46.5cents per cup. Dont forget to add in your cost of things like paper towels, parchment wax paper, food coloring, sprinkles, etc. And if you go to your power company website they have info on how you can calculate your electricity usage...I havent gone that far myself, but my husband has complained that the electric bill has gone up since I've been baking so much.

sherrycanary62 Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:37pm
post #4 of 9

thank you for your replies. They helped much! icon_smile.gif

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:39pm
post #5 of 9

I would either take your 6.75 cups and say it is either 27 1/4 cups or 13 1/2 cups.